Not Camping

She showed up at my place. I was still in my pajamas. I was a bit shocked; I mean she’s fun and all but not that spontaneous. She made me get dressed and asked me to put in a backpack five of the most essential things that I would need for five days. I was thrilled, she was taking me – I guess – on a camping trip.

I packed my jeans, a few T-shirts, some underwear, the book that I am reading – Petronille – Amelie Nothomb – and my cam.

A cab was waiting for us in front of my building. We got in, so I was thrilled to hear to where we are going. The driver said nothing; he just smiled at her and drove us to the destination. She handed me a sleeping mask and asked me to wear it. I smiled at her and agreed not to ruin her surprise that I already discovered.

She didn’t say a single word all the way to our destination; she just held my hand.

I was a bit surprised when she told me that we arrived. Considering where I live, the nearest place to camp would be nonetheless an hour far.

I got out of the car, still blinded by the eye cover. She took my hand to where she finally put her hands on my face for exactly two seconds and then took off the mask.

We were at the airport. I looked around confused then looked at her. She smiled. I smiled back not knowing what was going on. It never occurred to me, not even for a second that she would actually bring me here, out of nowhere, to actually travel.
She gave me my passport and a piece of paper that had all the countries where we could fly to as Lebanese citizens without a visa. I closed my eyes, put my finger on the paper extremely thrilled and excited to spend five days with her… Somewhere.

“ Two tickets to Malaysia please”.

-SheCallsMeBearyBoo

3 thoughts on “Not Camping

Leave a comment