2 Degrees of Separation

I don’t know how girls in Lebanon do it; how they meet each other. I mean, I can understand meeting one girl who turns out to be gay, or two. Bur for those that are never single for long, where do they meet each other?

If you’re going to tell me that there are organizations or activities or spaces that lesbians frequent, then I’ll say sure. In fact, I frequent a number of those. What I’ve realized is that it’s usually the same people though that you find at those places time and time again. You get into closed circles where anyone you’re interested in was previously involved with at least one of your friends, and things get complicated.

I know, there are a number of pubs and clubs that cater to LGBT people. But seriously, am I the only that walks into a lesbian bar and immediately senses the cliques? It’s always groups of girls sitting together seeming to have a fabulous time. You either go there with your own group of friends and have a fun night with no added expectations, or you go with the intent of meeting someone but have no idea if you’re going to put your foot in your mouth when approaching the cute girl sitting at the table with 4 other girls laughing and drinking and judging you as you approach.
Alright, I’ll admit that finding it difficult to approach someone because they are sitting in a group is based on insecurity. But come on! Walking up to a complete stranger and trying to flirt with them IS intimidating!

I have friends who tell me that there are large lesbian communities in their universities. I guess I should have gone to a bigger university. I can’t relate to that at all. My college experience was strictly daydreaming in class before running off to work.

Gay men have it way easier. I mean, they even have mobile applications to help find each other. And yes, I have heard of Brenda. I’ve tried it in fact. It’s not really that good. And I get it, lesbians are every straight guy’s fantasy right? So it’s almost impossible to keep such applications clean and safe.

Maybe I’ve got it all wrong. But how I feel right now is that I am connected to every lesbian I know by at most 2 degrees of separation. And well, I don’t want to shit where I eat so to speak…

-Frustrated Lesbo

 

One thought on “2 Degrees of Separation

Leave a comment